Portland Water District brings home awards at Maine Wastewater Environment Association’s 2019 Fall Convention


Mike Penny won the Charles Perry Collection System Award. This award is presented annually to a Collections Systems Operator who exhibits exemplary skills in the operation and maintenance of a wastewater collections system, puts in extra effort and originality in those operations to reduce environmental impacts on our community, and engages in community service and education. Mike Penny of Falmouth has been with the Portland Water District since 1993.



James Galasyn was awarded the David Anderson Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award. This award recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism, and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. Dr. Galasyn of Saco has been with the Portland Water District since 2010 as the Lead Environmental Scientist, and has over thirty years of environmental laboratory experience. In addition, he has served as chair of the New England lab practices committee.


Scott Firmin of Gorham was awarded the Roger Gagne award, which recognizes long term service to the Association. Scott Firmin, Director of Wastewater Services, has nearly 30 years of industry experience and has been at the Portland Water District and a member of MEWEA since 2001, where he served as President in 2016.